About the St. Lucie County Fire District


It is the mission of the St. Lucie County Fire District to preserve life and property by providing safe, efficient and professional emergency services, community risk reduction, and public education; together with community services for our residents and visitors now and into the future.


The St. Lucie County Fire District is an independent, county-wide special district which is governed by a seven member Fire Board, comprised of two commissioners from the City of Ft. Pierce, two councilmembers from the City of Port St. Lucie, two St. Lucie County Commissioners, and an appointee by the Governor of the State of Florida.

Photo Courtesy of Paul Millet, Palm Beach Post

Firefighter Helping Child

Fire & Emergency Medical Services

Fire and emergency medical services in St. Lucie were consolidated into this independent special district, which eliminated the need and cost for managing multiple fire/EMS agencies. Unlike typical fire departments, the St. Lucie County Fire District must also handle all support functions on its own.


The Fire District is the largest fire/EMS provider on the Treasure Coast and the fifth largest in the State of Florida. The Fire District operates 17 fire stations, which protect 271,000 residents and cover 614 square miles of St. Lucie County. During 2016, the Fire District responded to 51,935 calls.

Strategic Plan

View the 2019-2024 Strategic Plan (PDF).