District Chiefs

St. Lucie County Fire District divides the County into three response areas, which are comprised of one District Chief and two Battalion Chiefs. The District Chief oversees all day-to-day operations county-wide when on shift. The District Chief is housed at Station 1, also known as "Central" and is responsible for the operations of stations 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, and 15; as well as Air Rescue.

Northern Zone

The District Chief responds to all major incidents in the Northern area of the county, which include:
  • Florida East Coast Railroad
  • Florida Highway Patrol offices
  • Ft. Pierce City Hall
  • Ft. Pierce Marina
  • Ft. Pierce Police Department
  • Indian River Academy
  • Indian River State College
  • Lawnwood Regional Medical Trauma Center
  • North and South Hutchinson Islands
  • Numerous assisted living facilities
  • St. Lucie County Airport
  • St. Lucie County Courthouse
  • St. Lucie County Jail
  • The Port of Ft. Pierce
  • Three large nursing homes
  • Two water treatment facilities
In addition to the shift responsibilities for the North County area, the District Chief is ultimately responsible for the entire county and is called to all major incidents within its boundaries.