About Us
Message From the Fire Chief
Fire Board
Fire Board Meeting Agenda and Minutes
Contact Us
Air Rescue
Fire Stations
Daily Updates
News Releases
Photo Gallery
Honor Guard
Take Our Survey
Detail Request Form
Kids Fun Zone
Citizens Fire Academy

Fire Board


The St. Lucie County Fire District is an independent special district of the State of Florida, separate from the Board of County Commissioners of St. Lucie County as well as the Cities of Fort Pierce and Port St. Lucie.  It is the only special district in the State of Florida that provides fire and emergency rescue services for its entire county.

The Fire District is a composition of seven members: two appointed from the members of the St. Lucie County Board of County Commissioners; two appointed from the members of the City Commission of the City of Fort Pierce; two appointed from the members of the City Council of the City of Port St. Lucie; and one member appointed by Florida’s Governor.  Each member’s term is maintained by their home agency.  The Officers of the Fire Board are selected on an annual rotating basis. 

The Fire Board is a policy-making body and is not intended to manage the day-to-day operations of the Fire District, which are handled by Fire Chief, as the Fire District’s Chief Executive Officer.

Meetings of the Fire Board normally occur on the third Wednesday of the month, commencing at 3:00 pm, in the Fire District Board Chambers, located on the first floor of the SLCFD Administrative Complex, 5160 N.W. Milner Drive, Port St. Lucie, Florida  34983. 

Any person needing special accommodations must contact the St. Lucie County Fire District’s Human Resources Department (772) 621-3323, at least 48 hours prior to the time of the scheduled meeting.

All meetings are open to the public.

Meeting agendas and minutes are available online.

Our Fire Board:

Rufus Alexander


Chair, Rufus Alexander, Ft. Pierce City Commission


Michelle Berger


Vice-Chair, Michelle Berger, Port St. Lucie City Council


Tom Perona


Tom Perona, Ft. Pierce City Council


Kim Johnson


Kim Johnson, St. Lucie County Commission


Chris Dzadovsky


Chris Dzadovsky, St. Lucie County Commission


Mark Gotz


Mark Gotz, Governor's Appointee


Shannon Martin


Shannon Martin, Port St. Lucie City Council